Indiana University Creative Writing Program
Creative Writing Program
home page contact
The Creative Writing Program sponsors a vibrant and engaging reading series, inviting several writers of fiction, poetry, and nonfiction to the Bloomington campus every year. We believe that our student-writers should become engaged not only with important work of literature from the past but also with literature as it is being written today. Our visiting writers are a vivid reminder of how the art of writing is also an act of engagement. During these visits, our students get to interact with these writers and ask them questions about craft, the writerly life, and the world of publishing.

In recent years our visiting writers have included Sa�d Sayrafiezadeh, Nahid Rachlin, Crystal Williams, Lydia Davis, Campbell McGrath, David Young, Tomasz Rozycki, Mira Rosenthal, Phillip Lopate, A.E. Stallings, James Chandler, Russell Banks, Nicholas Dawidoff, Maureen McLane, Paul Muldoon, Evie Shockley , John Keene, Aimee Nezhukumatathil, Aracelis Girmay, Patrick Rosal and Tyehimba Jess.

In the years past, our students have had the opportunity to listen to and mingle with this impressive array of writers: Yusef Komunyakaa, Amy Bloom, Molly Peacock, Tayari Jones, Ingrid de Kok, Richard Rodriguez, Thomas Glave, Michael Martone, Terrance Hayes, Patricia Henley, Li-Young Lee, Maureen Seaton, Karen Volkman, Brigit Pegeen Kelly, Barbara Hamby, David Kirby, Li-Young Lee, Jacqueline Oscherow, Maya Angelou, Martha Rhodes, J. M. Coetzee, Marilyn Chin, Amos Oz, James Alan McPherson, Jonathan Ames, Carl Phillips, Robert Olen Butler, Jean M. Auel, Thomas Glave, bell hooks, Jonathan Letham, Wang Ping, Aimee Bender, Vandana Khanna, Mari Evans, Nikki Giovanni, Beau Sia, Lucia Perillo, Mark Doty, Molly Giles, Reginald McKnight, Achy Obejas, John Keene, Crystal Williams, Wayne Johnston, Terrance Hayes, Alison Deming, Elizabeth Dewberry, Brenda Hillman, Clint McCown, A. J. Verdelle, Ray Gonzalez, Adam Zagejewski, Andrew Lisicky, Michael Martone, Andrew Hudgins, Erin McGraw, Brenda Shaunessy, Reginald Shepherd, and David Rivard.

The Creative Writing Program's graduate students and faculty also offer regular readings of their poetry and prose.

This page is updated as readings and related lectures and conversations are scheduled.