Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington

Faculty Profiles



Michael Adams

Michael Adams

Professor of English


adamsmp@indiana.edu | More >>


Dana Anderson

Dana Anderson

Associate Professor of English
Director of Composition


danaande@indiana.edu | 812-855-2133 | More >>


Penelope Anderson

Penelope Anderson

Associate Professor of English


pea@indiana.edu | 812-855-4529 | More >>


Scot Barnett

Scot Barnett

Assistant Professor of English


scbarnet@indiana.edu | More >>


Purnima Bose

Purnima Bose

Associate Professor of English


pbose@indiana.edu | 812-855-5334 | More >>


Catherine Bowman

Catherine Bowman

Professor of English


cabowman@indiana.edu | 812-855-1834 | More >>


Judith C. Brown

Judith C. Brown

Associate Professor of English


jcb@indiana.edu | More >>


Richard Cecil

Richard Cecil

Adjunct Associate Professor of English


cecilr@indiana.edu | 812-855-1296 | More >>


Linda Charnes

Linda Charnes

Professor of English


lcharnes@indiana.edu | 812-855-6643 | More >>


Edward Comentale

Edward Comentale

Professor of English
Director of Undergraduate Studies


ecomenta@indiana.edu | More >>


Jonathan Elmer

Jonathan Elmer

Professor of English
Director, College Arts and Humanities Institute


elmerj@indiana.edu | More >>


Christine R. Farris

Christine R. Farris

Professor of English


crfarris@indiana.edu | 812-856-2181 | More >>


Mary A. Favret

Mary A. Favret

Professor of English
Director of Strategic Planning


favretm@indiana.edu | 812-855-8283 | More >>


Jennifer Fleissner

Jennifer Fleissner

Associate Professor of English


jfleissn@indiana.edu | More >>


Robert D. Fulk

Robert D. Fulk

Adjunct Professor Germanic Studies
Class of 1964 Chancellor’s Professor of English


fulk@indiana.edu | 812-855-1943 | More >>


Ross Gay

Ross Gay

Associate Professor of English
Associate Director of Creative Writing


rgay@indiana.edu | More >>


Shannon Gayk

Shannon Gayk

Associate Professor of English


sgayk@indiana.edu | More >>


D. Rae Greiner

D. Rae Greiner

Associate Professor of English


drgreine@indiana.edu | More >>


Paul Gutjahr

Paul Gutjahr

Chair, Department of English
Professor of English, American Studies and Religious Studies


pgutjahr@indiana.edu | 812-855-2147 | More >>


Vivian Nun Halloran

Vivian Nun Halloran

Associate Professor of American Studies and English
Director, Asian American Studies Program


vhallora@indiana.edu | 812-856-5653 | More >>


Raymond Hedin

Raymond Hedin

Professor of English


hedin@indiana.edu | More >>


Scott Herring

Scott Herring

Associate Professor of English
Affiliate Faculty in Gender Studies and the American Studies Program


tsherrin@indiana.edu | More >>


Justin Hodgson

Justin Hodgson

Assistant Professor of English


hodgson@indiana.edu | More >>


Patricia Clare Ingham

Patricia Clare Ingham

Associate Professor of English
Editor, Exemplaria: A Journal of Theory in Medieval and Renaissance Studies


pingham@indiana.edu | 812-855-0521 | More >>


Christoph Irmscher

Christoph Irmscher

Provost Professor of English


cirmsche@indiana.edu | 443-622-3277 | More >>


Joshua Kates

Joshua Kates

Professor of English


jkates@indiana.edu | More >>


De Witt Douglas Kilgore

De Witt Douglas Kilgore

Associate Professor of English


dkilgore@indiana.edu | 812-855-4148 | More >>


Ivan Kreilkamp

Ivan Kreilkamp

Associate Professor of English


ikreilka@indiana.edu | 812-855-6132 | More >>


Lara Kriegel

Lara Kriegel

Associate Professor of English and History
Associate Editor, American Historical Review


lkriegel@indiana.edu | 812-855-6290


Stephanie Li

Stephanie Li

Professor of English
Susan D. Gubar Chair in Literature


stephli@indiana.edu | More >>


Joan Pong Linton

Joan Pong Linton

Associate Professor of English


jlinton@indiana.edu | 812-855-2285 | More >>


Karma Lochrie

Karma Lochrie

Professor of English


klochrie@indiana.edu | More >>


Ellen Mackay

Ellen MacKay

Associate Professor of English
Director of Graduate Studies


emackay@indiana.edu | 812-855-9536 | More >>


Adrian Matejka

Adrian Matejka

Assistant Professor of English


acmatejk@indiana.edu | 812-855-1855 | More >>


Alyce Miller

Alyce Miller

Professor of English


almiller@indiana.edu | 812-855-2232 | More >>


Andrew H. Miller

Andrew H. Miller

Professor of English
Director, Victorian Studies Program
Co-editor, Victorian Studies


ahmiller@indiana.edu | More >>


Jesse Molesworth

Jesse Molesworth

Associate Professor of English


jmoleswo@indiana.edu | More >>


Monique Morgan

Monique Morgan

Associate Professor of English


mormorga@indiana.edu | More >>


Walton Muyumba

Walton Muyumba

Associate Professor of English


wmuyumba@indiana.edu | More >>


Richard Nash

Richard Nash

Professor of English
Director of Creative Writing


nash@indiana.edu | More >>


Alvin H. Rosenfeld

Alvin H. Rosenfeld

Professor of English and Jewish Studies
M. Glazer Chair in Jewish Studies
Director, Institute for the Study of Contemporary Antisemitism


rosenfel@indiana.edu | 812-855-2325 | More >>


Ranu Samantrai

Ranu Samantrai

Associate Professor of English


rsamantr@indiana.edu | 812-855-6550 | More >>


John Lincoln Schilb

John Lincoln Schilb

Professor of English
Culbertson Chair of Writing


jschilb@indiana.edu | 812-855-5029 | More >>


Rebekah Sheldon

Rebekah Sheldon

Assistant Professor of English


rsheldon@indiana.edu | More >>


Nikki Skillman

Nikki Skillman

Assistant Professor of English


nskillma@indiana.edu | More >>


Kathy O. Smith

Kathy O. Smith

Associate Professor of English
Associate Chair, Department of English
Composition Coordinator


kosmith@indiana.edu | 812-855-3283 | More >>


Jacinda Townsend

Jacinda Townsend

Assistant Professor of English


townsjac@indiana.edu | More >>


Samrat Upadhyay

Samrat Upadhyay

Professor of English


supadhya@indiana.edu | 812-856-5882 | More >>


Alberto Varon

Alberto Varon

Assistant Professor of English


avaron@indiana.edu | More >>


Shane Vogel

Shane Vogel

Director, Cultural Studies Program
Associate Professor of English


shvogel@indiana.edu | More >>


Stephen Watt

Stephen Watt

Provost Professor of English
Adjunct Professor of Theatre and Drama


watt@indiana.edu | 812-855-1334 | More >>


Nicholas Williams

Nicholas Williams

Associate Professor of English


nimwilli@indiana.edu | 812-855-7649 | More >>